I Have Created…….Cantaloupe??

There’s a scene from the movie Castaway where Tom Hanks’ character is dancing around a fire shouting, “I have created fire,” while beating his chest in primal satisfaction. That’s kind of how I felt about the cantaloupes from my garden.

You see, I’ve had homegrown cantaloupe before. It was nasty. Bland. Tasted like dirt.

Dis is zee juicy melones!

I picked 3 melons from the garden today. Rather, they picked themselves…..I kinda was just looking at them and noticed that they had detached from the vine, seemingly recently. They are smallish melons. But not too small. A good handful. Wait, what are we talking about again?

Okay, the boob joke is out of the way, so now we can move on.

They smelled like cantaloupe should smell. They looked kinda like the ones you buy in the store, except smaller. Perhaps I had not failed. I cut it open and made a huge mess with the seeds. And then I tasted it and said, “I have created…..cantaloupe!!” Minus the chest-beating part, although considering the theme of this post is melons, perhaps it would have been fitting.

Never will I fear the home grown cantaloupe again. I will boldly march into Home Depot next spring and pick out cantaloupe seeds again. And maybe even  honeydew seeds!

Leave a Reply

