How to Freeze Peppers

Green peppers are one of those garden things that are impossibly simple to deal with once harvested. They can be frozen without degrading their color, flavor or texture. In fact, I much prefer using frozen peppers in cooking because they cook faster than their raw counterparts.

Get ready to be blown away by the simplest of preservation techniques.

First, gather up all your lovely peppers. Green, red, orange, yellow – they all freeze the same.  Wash them and lay them to dry on a kitchen towel.

A gaggle of green peppers. I love the two-tone.

Next, cut them in half. Rachel Ray was on to something with her idea for the garbage bowl. I use my hands to pull out the stem and seeds. Someone with a little more class might use a knife. Throw all the inards in the garbage bowl.

On a cutting board, cut the peppers into any size or shape you prefer. I like strips.

STRIPS!

Now bag it all up. Yep, that’s it.

Yes, sir, five bags full.

 I keep peppers near the front of the freezer so I can access them quickly. I pull out a few strips at a time, run them under warm water for a few seconds, chop them up and add them to whatever I’m trying to sneak them into.

Now, may you go forth and freeze peppers in abundance!

Leave a Reply

