A Full Rich Day(s)

 

Today marks the conclusion of 3 three-day weekends in a row. I won’t lie, I think all weekends should be at least 3 days long. But now I’m back to the grind full tilt through the new year while my department undergoes a a software change.

Friday was a casual day. Just playing with the kids and errands and a blissful, child-free 2 hours at Joanns. On Saturday, we went garage saling and to a parade in West Fargo with my parents and my sister’s family. I got skunked garage saling but the parade was great. I spent all day Sunday in the kitchen. All day. My feet are killing me. At the very last moment, I got a sliver from a broken dish in my foot. The timing of my cooking injury was impeccable.

Gretchen, HIllary and Aryn waiting for the parade to start.

There are few greater joys in life than watching a child at a parade. The sheer delight in every new thing that comes down the street, the endless hustling for candy and trinkets, the EXCITEMENT over the whole experience! And getting to SHARE that excitement (and candy) with them.   

Best Friends Forever
Maris sprawled out on the floor just watchin' TV after the day's excitement wore her out.
 

 The weather was rather cool and windy for the parade. The weather blew the energy right out of all of us. I may or may not have taken a nap on Saturday.

On Sunday, I got an early start in the kitchen and  canned 9 three-cup jars of spaghetti sauce, 10 pints of green beans, and an assortment of pints and half-pints of salsa. (I’m honestly too lazy to walk into the kitchen and count, but I know it filled the canner almost twice.) I made stir fry for lunch this week, pizza dough, and of course breakfast, lunch and supper. There are ZERO tomotoes in the house right now. I don’t normally consider canning a drudgery, but I’m DYING with all these little golf ball sized tomatoes. Hundreds of them to peel and chop. One by one. By one.

Spaghetti sauce.
All in a day’s work. That one white ring is driving me crazy.

On the bright side, I got a new immersion blender today.  Now if I could get an electric knife, I will have reached small appliance nirvana.

 
It felt good to get some cooking and canning done this weekend. I’ve been lax, in a food rut, tired of menu planning, etc. But after a break, I’m glad to be back at it. If I had to pick a season, I’d say I love cooking winter food best.
 
And just for fun, a sweet face to say goodnight.
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

