Garden Update: October 14th, 2011 ~~ Garden Wrap-Up

Do you love math? Numbers? Useless data? Then this is the post for you!

With the exception of carrots, my garden is DONE.

In years past, I’ve counted tomatoes, but never done a full-scale weigh-in of everything as it is harvested. I must have had a premonition that the tomatoes were going to be such hateful little tiny things, making poundage a more accurate measure than counting.

Let’s see…..I’m thinking I spent about $50-$60 on seeds and plants this year. Not too bad, except the $8 grape plant died just weeks after I transplanted it when hubby got a little too close with the Round Up in the ornamental rock….on the back side of the house…..where no one can see it….growing underneath the garbage can….which we all know is the most beautiful feature in the yard that benefits greatly from the removal of all plant life around it. Bah!

Okay, on to the summary.

I have 3 gardens: a perrenial flower garden on the front of the house, a small 2 X 15 foot strawberry patch on the back of the house, and a 10 X 20 foot raised garden bed in the backyard.

I planted strawberries, green beans, peas, cabbage, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, cantaloupe, yellow squash, cucumbers, onions, parsley, green peppers and of course, tomatoes.

The cauliflower and onions failed, and the peas and strawberries were never weighed because most of them were eaten right in the garden.

I weighed everything as I harvested it, and this is what happened in my garden this year:

Green Beans: 16 1/2 pounds (from 3 or 4 seed packets)

Zucchini: 21 pounds (from 3 plants)

Cucumbers: 30 1/2 pounds (from 9 vining plants)

Yellow Squash: 14 pounds (from 2 plants)

Cabbage: 7 pounds (4 plants)

Green Peppers: 7 1/2 pounds (from 7 plants)

Broccoli: 2 ounces….more on that later (from 2 surviving plants)

Onions: 5 ounces (a whole 10 foot row, epic fail)

Tomatoes: 203 pounds!!! (from 16 of the craziest, most enormous, out of control plants I ever saw)

What did I do with it all?

I pickled the cucumbers, canned the green beans, made zucchini bread and zucchini cake, gave away almost all of the yellow squash, ate the cantaloupe, froze the green peppers, spit the broccoli into the garbage after sampling it, made egg rolls and stir fry with the cabbage,  and canned salsa, spaghetti sauce, diced tomatoes and tomato sauce with all those tomatoes.

I actually have about half the tomatoes in my freezer right now. I got a little burnt out on canning and needed to take a break for awhile. I’ll finish up soon.

Overall, not a bad haul. The tomato harvest shocked me. It always does. 203 pounds of tomatoes at $2/pound at the grocery store….yeah, I think it was worth the work. Or “work,” depending on the way you look at it.

I’ve told myself I’m going to plant the same things again next year, but honestly, I’ll find ways to branch out and do more, rearrange the garden layout, and find new and interesting plants I want to grow. It’s a curse I must bear.

I’m looking forward to charting progress from the beginning of the growing season next year instead of jumping into the middle like I did this year. If only I had come up with a blog name sooner…..

Leave a Reply

