Chocolate Chip Cookies

Since it’s almost gardening season kick-off, I might be thinking about a post on starting seeds or something like that. But, you see, my wonderful, loving, ultra-helpful husband recycled all of the milk jugs intended for seed-starting just this morning. I planted a few jalepeno pepper seeds, but until the milk jug stash is replenished, the rest will have to wait. It’s a good thing we go through milk at an astonishing rate….

So I’ll talk about chocolate chip cookies instead.

A couple of weeks ago, Hillary was begging me to bake chocolate chip cookies with her.

As you may know, I got a swell Kitchenaid mixer for Christmas. It really is quite swell. I lived without it until now, but I have no idea how.

When Hillary and I make stuff together in the kitchen, I do most of the measuring, she does the pouring and anything involving measuring spoons. She usually gets distracted right around the time we add flour because apparently flour has magical powers over children. I once watched her play with one measuring spoon and a half cup of flour poured onto the countertop for an HOUR. Truly amazing.

In the essence of time, we only baked 8 cookies and froze the rest of the dough in little balls for later. I have no idea why I didn’t think of this freezing thing before, because honestly, by the time I get everything mixed up and that first batch laid out on a cookie sheet, I’m prettymuch over any excitement I ever had about baking cookies in the first place. So freezing the dough cures that. Plus, we can have fresh-baked cookies every night for a week, if we wanted to.

Hillary, focussed and undaunted by the presence of flour, helped roll little balls of cookie dough while the 8-pack of cookies baked. This was a good project for her because it kept her from asking when the cookies would be done for a good 10 minutes.

At long last, the cookies were (over)done. Because that’s how I bake. The whole family hovered around the stove waiting for the cookies to cool just enough to handle.

And they were delicious. I wasn’t even mad that I stepped on a melty chocolate chip and got it all over my sock.

This is the recipe I always, always use for chocolate chip cookies. I have no idea where I got it, but apparently it’s supposed to be a Mrs. Field’s knockoff. I’ve never compared them side by side, but my guess is they aren’t really anything like Mrs. Field’s cookies. The dough freezes well and the cookies bake well from frozen. It makes about 40 2-inch cookies. Less if you want big ones.

Printable recipe here.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 sticks butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

2 eggs

2 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 bag chocolate chips, 12 ounces

1. Preheat over to 350.

2. Cream butter, sugars, eggs & vanilla.

3. Add flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.

4. Stir in chocolate chips.

5. After dough has chilled, make golf ball size portions and place them 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

6. Bake for 9-10 minutes or until edges are light brown.

Enjoy!

(I’d have taken a photo of the cookies we made, but they disappeared pretty fast. You understand, right?)

Leave a Reply

