Wait, What’s This Thing For?

As you may have noticed, I’ve been experiencing a bit of writer’s block. My life is truly uninteresting. I just haven’t been able to come up with anything worth writing about….

Then I remembered why I started this blog in the first place – to talk about gardening, to archive my gardening adventures from year to year, to share success and laugh at failure.

So yeah, I’ve got a thing or 2 to talk about.

The garden is completely planted. There’s tomatos on the perimeter for easy picking. Fifteen plants – one died. Then there’s 8 or 12 sad looking pepper plants, plus even sadder looking jalepeno plants. Apparently life in the big garden is taking some adjustment. Weinies.

There’s 3 rows of corn on one end and I think I pulled some of it, confusing it with quack grass. My garden is loaded with quack grass because I’m too stubborn to use Round Up. The grass is growing quite well, I might add.

For some fun (FUN!) I planted peanuts. They have an incredibly long growing season and don’t appear to be sprouting very well, so we’ll see.

The onions look great, but the carrots didn’t make it at all (I saw four sprouts), and I don’t see any dill coming up yet, except in this one spot where I don’t remember planting any.

For some good old-fashioned fun, I planted a bunch of viney things, like watermelon, pumpkins and cantaloupe. If I have vines everywhere, maybe I won’t notice the weeds.

I also planted garlic in my flower bed with the poor soil. Garlic likes poor soil conditions, apparently. Or I guess we’ll find out when it’s time to harvest. It’s not doing much to keep out bunnies or children, but every single bulb sprouted and is doing great.

I planted 3 kinds of berries in their own area around the shed. I partially bunny-fenced it, but it’s obvious now that I need to do more. Damn wildlife. Don’t they know I have a neighbor who shoots stuff and I’m not afraid to ask for his help? Bunnies like blueberries, in case you were wondering.

There’s a planter set up in the window in the dining room waiting for lettuce seed. I’ll get there.

And lastly, against my better judgment, I planted about 8 green bean seeds that I’d saved from last year. I was scepticle they would even grow, considering I didn’t accurately follow the seed-saving intructions. Every single seed sprouted and frankly they are the best looking plants in the whole garden. Except now my fat butt has to get out there and pick beans once in awhile.

I planted the garden a weekish before Memorial day and it’s still looking somewhat sad. I won’t lie – it’s not going to be my best year.  All I REALLY need to grow are the tomatoes and peppers. We ran out of spaghetti sauce a couple of months ago and I’m about 3 omelettes away from being out of peppers.

So that’s what’s going on in the garden as of today. My mother, bless her heart, thought a bit of fertilizer would perk everyone up. I did not consent to it’s use, so if any of my kids grow a 3rd eye or another belly button I’ll just tote my mother along everywhere we go and she can explain it all to the gawkers. She weeded the garden so I don’t have to, though, so I think we’re even steven, extra eyes, limbs, toes and all.

Leave a Reply

