Knee High By The 4th Of July

My corn is “knee high by the 4th of July.” Or, more accurately, it’s “thigh high by the 4th of July,” which I think is a lot more fun to say.

Sure, it looks good NOW.
I’ve never grown corn before, so it should be interesting to see how it turns out. It sure LOOKS like the stuff in the fields, which may or may not be a good barometer for my small scale application.

Everything else in the garden that didn’t die is looking well. Beans are coming along nicely, watermelon, pumpkins, cantaloupe and some other viney thing, I have no idea what it is. The onions look great but they stink. The dill is new this year and looks good. I love the smell of dill. I could wear it as perfume if society would let me. The tomatoes are even starting to fruit. See?

Roma goodness.

I planted all Romas this year because they are the bomb for all my canning applications. The plants don’t look like they’ll be 8 feet tall like they were last year (no lie), but I’m guessing that’s a good thing. That was a mess. I nearly got lost in the tomato jungle and no one would have known until someone got hungry.

The fruit is all looking well, too. We got these amazing ever-bearing strawberry plants at Shotwell’s and I’ve vowed not to kill them. There are little flowers and tiny strawberries forming on them. Besides dirt-covered fresh carrots, the home-grown strawberry is top of the list for your straight from the garden enjoyment. The birds and bunnies seem to be leaving them alone, too. I might need an electric fence to keep the kids out, though.

I had previously mentioned killing my Mother’s Day flower from the kids, but I also bought myself a little something on Mother’s Day – 3 blueberry bushes for $12. What a deal!! They looked a little spindly but I’ve never been disappointed when I gave spindly a chance. I got the blueberry plants all tucked in with the raspberries and was quite pleased with my little garden o’ fruit.

Then the birds came. Birds like blueberries, and why wouldn’t they? Stupid animals. So what do we do when a bird is eating our plants? We go to the toy department at Target. And buy pinwheels. I put one pinwheel by each blueberry plant and quite miraculously, for $3, I have solved my little bird problem. I don’t know where I picked up the pinwheel idea, but I’m thinking birds don’t like shiny things that may or may not move and scare them while they are trying to have a snack. The plants are growing back after being whittled down to almost nothing by those damn birds.

See all that light green stuff? That’s regrowth.

 

One thought on “Knee High By The 4th Of July

  1. I’m glad you mentioned that your tomato plants are not near has large as last year. I was becoming concerned about mine since, they too, are significantly smaller than last year. But as I’ve looked at other gardens; mine are the same as everyone elses.

Leave a Reply

