If You Like To Talk To Tomatoes

If a squash can make you smile….

Yes, folks, it’s a veggie tale and this one’s for the tomatoes.

Count them up, one by one – 1,437. Averaging 4 ounces apiece, that’s 360 pounds of tomatoes from 15 once-upon-a-time spindly little plants. Rest in peace, number 16….you were good for another 20 pounds or so.

I grew all Roma tomatoes this year after a passionate love affair with them last summer. They didn’t disappoint this summer either, though next year I will plant a few for just eating. Romas aren’t the most flavorful, but they make a hell of a salsa.

Right now, most of them are residing in my freezer and my sister’s freezer because the peak of the season came at about the same time I peaked out on pregnancy. The first 100 pounds or so went into spaghetti sauce and it is better than ever before! I just cannot resist tweaking a recipe!

Salsa and pizza sauce are on the docket and when we get really bored with canning, we’ll just dice the rest and call it good.

In other garden news, the jalapeno plants yielded 2 pounds 6 ounces of peppers, which may not seem like a lot until you see what 2 pounds 6 ounces of jalapenos looks like.

There was also 2 pounds 1 ounce of onions, which we went through handily in spaghetti sauce.

Cantaloupes weighed in at about 35 pounds of juicy melon.

I think I had 22 ears of corn and one lonely watermelon to go with the Loneliest Pepper, which weighed a whopping 2.5 ounces.

I didn’t weigh the pumpkins because I was so excited to make a fall display with them in the front yard, but we got 7 or 8 small to medium pumpkins and one good for carving. I was surprised that there was not more  – the pumpkins vines quite literally took over the garden.

The dill did great, which reminds me….about 2 months ago my mom put some dill in the garage for seed collection and it must still be out there. I don’t do much work in the garage, I guess. That also reminds me that I need to get out and pick the dried beans off the plants for seed.

The only thing left out there for eating is the peanuts. My mom accidentally picked one the other day and sure enough, there were nut-shaped things dangling from the roots.  Based on that, we should have one good snack coming from the garden yet.

So that’s the garden wrap-up. It was a pretty light year, but garden space is doubling next year. And if I can manage to just NOT be pregnant for once, it will surely be something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

