Necessity is the Mother of All Invention

I had a little spare time a couple of weeks ago. It happens….once in awhile.

So I got out my sewing machine and got to work on a couple of projects. The kids were in need of a few things.

This is what I cranked through the sewing machine.

Bryce moved out of his infant car seat and therefore was no longer covered with a blanket every time we left the house, so this hat was born out of necessity. Upcycled from a wool blend sweater.
Bryce’s new hat, upcycled from a wool blend sweater.
IMG_4024
Two prefold diapers. Like I needed more diapers. This interlock has been in my stash for over 2 years and I finally found some inspiration. I’ve been debating making more…
IMG_4026
Nightgown. Upcycled from one of my favorite old t-shirts I acquired in 1996.
IMG_4027
One of many pairs of cut off and hemmed leggings I will sew this spring.
IMG_4218
The rest of the cut off leggings.
IMG_4028
Another upcycled t-shirt into nightgown. This one is my favorite.
IMG_4030
And yet another upcycled t-shirt into a nightgown.
IMG_4031
There was a beautiful dress in the hand-me-down pile and it was so big it wouldn’t fit Hillary for many years yet, so I did the only thing I could think of doing with a large piece of fun fabric….made cloth napkins!
IMG_4032
Two pairs of pants upcycled from an old, heavy cotton shirt. For the little boy.
IMG_4033
I made the kids a felt mail set for Christmas last year, but couldn’t find a mailbox for it. The orange box held a food mill. I ditched the food mill and now the kids have a mailbox for their mail! I was pleased to find something at home that would work for them!!
One thought on “Necessity is the Mother of All Invention

Leave a Reply

