Garden Update August 11, 2013

It’s been about six weeks since the last Garden Update. July was rather uneventful, other than just a bunch of stuff growing. Everything went crazy. I’m always surprised by the enthusiasm of these little plants. I guess no one wants to be a quitter.

Speaking of quitters, I quit harvesting beans. I enjoy everything about gardening, start to finish, except picking beans. I always plant too many, and I either wreck my knees crouched down trying to pick through a massive tangle of plants without falling and crushing the whole row, OR I stand with my butt in the air and hope the neighbors aren’t watching whilst my spine gets its panties in a wad. Furthermore, there is exactly one person in this house who eats green beans without vehement protest, but I feel like I need to plant them because I’ve been saving my own seeds for a few years now and I wouldn’t want to have to pay $1 for a new packet of seeds should I actually SKIP a year. *sigh* My brain hurts.

The harvest process isn’t much different for peas, but for some reason I don’t hate it as much as I hate picking beans. I guess it’s because peas from the garden are like little bits of heaven on earth. I exercised restraint and picked a whole bunch at once instead of picking through every day and was actually able to eat peas in places outside the backyard. That was a first for me.

I picked all the dill today. And all the red peppers in my tri-color ornamental pepper plant.

I’ve harvested a few cucumbers, including three 10-inchers that were buried underneath a massive tangle of pumpkin vines. Or vines for something. I can’t really tell anymore.

My mom couldn’t resist the urge to check on the potatoes. The 4 foot tall potato plants are indeed growing potatoes under the dirt. Who knew.

Maris pulled another onion, so her total is now 3 or 4 for the year. This one was big enough to eat.

The corn is tasseling, as they say in the corn industry. The popping corn is ahead of the sweet corn.

The tomatoes are coming along. Finally, FINALLY. BLT season has arrived, people.

Here’s a few pictures of some pretty things….

 

Flowering onion
Flowering onion

 

At last, a window ledge to ripen tomatoes.
At last, a window ledge to ripen tomatoes.

 

Hanging dill.
Hanging dill.

 

Peas. Many delicious, delicious peas.
Peas. Many delicious, delicious peas.

 

Pretty little peppers.
Pretty little peppers.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

