The Lunch Box.

 

As we skid into the 4th quarter, I thought it would be fun to remind myself how much I love packing lunches. hahahahaha! Just kidding, there’s no joy in packing lunches. I was tired of it by the 4th day of school last fall.

But as sure as the sun will rise, I am committed to packing lunch every day of the week. Okay, at least 4 days a week. We’re getting to the end of the school year, after all. I ran out of new ideas in October.

We have this nifty thing called a PlanetBox. It’s a wildly overpriced, stainless steel divided tray with a lid.  I, too, was shocked that I convinced myself to spend $60 on a lunch box. The idea being that it’s indestructible and can be used for many, many, MANY years. I’ve packed it about 3 times a week for almost 2 years, so I would say it’s lived up to the hype.

IMG_4596
This is a PlanetBox.

Back when I was a little more enthusiastic about packing lunches, I took some photos to pull out later for inspiration. I’m not sure if I’m any more inspired than I was before, but maybe you are.

IMG_20140313_185146321
Ham, Gogurt, chunky applesauce, shredded cojack cheese
IMG_4741
Sliced turkey, red grapes, tortilla chips, sharp cheddar cheese
IMG_4724
This one must have been way early in the year…I used toothpicks. Peanuts, Ritz crackers, strawberries, bologna and sharp cheddar, half a banana, and tiny cookies.
IMG_4701
Kraft single, strawberries, yogurt, red grapes, pepperoni.
IMG_4700
Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, red grapes, cottage cheese, raspberries
IMG_4682
Sharp cheddar, strawberries, peanut butter and jelly sandwich, cheese popcorn, chocolate chips
IMG_4669
Black olives, Goldfish, strawberries, pepperoni, shredded cojack cheese, 3 tiny cookies
IMG_4668
Sunflower seeds, raspberries, strawberries, cottage cheese, cheese popcorn, tiny cookies
IMG_4616
Pepperoni & sharp cheddar cheese, strawberries, strawberry applesauce, Ritz crackers and half a banana muffin
IMG_4615
Sunflower seeds & dried cherries, strawberries, cold pizza, half a banana muffin.
IMG_4611
Peanuts and sharp cheddar pieces, raspberries, peanut butter and jelly sandwich, H-shaped sharp cheddar cheese cutouts, dried cherries….another lunch that must have been early in the year if I was using cookie cutters.
IMG_4609
Peanuts, Beddar Cheddars, red & green grapes, yogurt, shredded sharp cheddar, white chocolate chips
IMG_4607
Sunflower seeds & Froot Loops, green grapes, sliced ham, shredded sharp cheddar.
IMG_4598
Mandarin oranges and sharp cheddar slices, red grapes, yogurt, ham slices.
IMG_4593
Sunflower seeds and white chocolate chips, strawberries, peanut butter and Nutella sandwich, raspberries.
And just for fun, a gratuitous snapshot of the rest of my lunch-packing arsenal.
And just for fun, a gratuitous snapshot of the rest of my lunch-packing arsenal – Drink containers, Thermoses, plastic Ziploc lunch containers, and reusable squeeze pouches.

 

Happy lunch packing, from my family to yours. May you always be overflowing with lunch ideas, to the very end of the school year. Or at least until 2nd quarter.

Leave a Reply

