Upcycling

I love to upcycle. Upcycling is where thrift and creativity meet, so it’s natural that it would be right up my alley. Most of my upcycling involves sewing, more sewing, and even more sewing, but my latest upcycle left me feeling far to clever to keep it to myself.

We didn’t NEED a new marker holder. We have two perfectly good plastic pencil boxes. The colored pencils fit in a ziploc just fine. The crayons are doing alright stowed away in a cottage cheese tub. I had been trying to think of a way to consolidate all of these mediums in an appealing way because someone is ALWAYS drawing or coloring in this house, but the only thing I could come up with was the lawnmower-shaped pencil holder the kids made at the Home Depot one Saturday last year, and it only holds 4 pencils. Or something I couldn’t afford from Etsy. So imagine my surprise when something quite ordinary came to mind in a very non-impressive way.

Ready for it?

I turned an Ikea shape sorter into a functional and visually appealing writing utensil organizer.

 

 

Before.
Before.

 

After!
After!

 

I couldn’t find a nice way to fit the crayons into this setup without getting seriously lost in the shuffle, so I repurposed a hand-painted wooden box.

Crayon's new home.
Crayon’s new home.

 

One of my best high school friends made the hand-painted box for me. I bet she would be surprised to know I still have it. It’s been in constant use for many, many years, holding a variety of trinkets, photos, and school supplies. And now crayons. Much more appealing than a cottage cheese tub, no?

Leave a Reply

