Tiny Flowers

 

DSCN0425
Noodle Flowers!

 

We did something fun on Saturday!! We made tiny, painted noodle flower arrangements!

I wasn’t a fan of this noodle’s shape for cooking, but they were perfect for a cheery, spring-themed art project.

Mini-tutorial below, though I think it’s self-explanatory.

Start with Campanelle noodles.
Start with Campanelle noodles.

 

Shove a toothpick into one end of the noodle to create something that looks like a flower. Or a toilet plunger, if you spent the morning hearing all about Grandpa's plugged toilet.
Shove a toothpick into one end of the noodle to create something that looks like a flower. Or a toilet plunger, if you spent the morning hearing all about Grandpa’s plugged toilet.

 

Paint. We used Delta Soy Paint, available at Joann's.
Paint. We used Delta Soy Paint, available at Joann’s.

 

Allow to dry. We stuck the toothpicks into a styrofoam egg carton to dry. After they were dry, the kids did accent painting on each flower.

 

Arrange in a shot glass. We packed a couple of blue paper strips into the bottom to help give the arrangement a little more shape.
Arrange in a shot glass. We packed a couple of blue paper strips into the bottom to help give the arrangement a little more shape. My niece did this arrangement. She is 9.

 

DSCN0416
This arrangement was done by my 3 year old.
DSCN0411
This arrangement was done by my 6 year old.

 

I love, love, love how these little flowers turned out. I loved that it was easy project for my 3 year old. I loved that it kept all of them busy for over an hour. I love all the detail the older girls added to their flowers.

I still have some noodles left over. The 3 girls had such a good time painting that perhaps I want to paint some, too!

Leave a Reply

