Finding Happiness in the Regular Stuff

I have recently found myself trying to sort out and savor those things in life that cause happiness.

Like gooey chocolate chip cookies.

Snuggling into a soft bed with a feather pillow, well-worn sheets and a homemade quilt.

The screams and smiles that accompany bubble blowing.

Touching my husband’s soft skin.

Having a little boy curled up on my chest, no doubt listening to my heart beat while he dozes off.

I am a mess. I can’t even sort out my own emotions, much less help three wee ones sort out theirs. I don’t know the exact size of “small” in that catchy little phrase, “Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff.” If successful marriages were defined by 5 simple rules, I would be breaking at least 3 of them. When I entered adulthood, I had no idea it would involve so much decision-making. Surely institutions of higher education could have offered a course or two on this.

All of this internal melodrama meant taking a weekend to refocus, to right the wrong lines of thinking, to take something by the horns.

My camera in tow, I sought out the happy moments in the everyday stuff.

All three kids piled into the window seat to water the tomato plants.
All three kids piled into the window seat to water the tomato plants.

 

Many crosses. Easter lives on.
Many crosses. Easter lives on.

 

A pile of books rescued from the landfill.
A pile of books rescued from the landfill.

 

A chalkboard also rescued from the landfill. Nothing says family-togetherness like driving around picking trash off the berm.
A chalkboard also rescued from the landfill. Nothing says family-togetherness like driving around picking trash off the berm.

 

Happy birthday to my lovely mother. I love my family!
Happy birthday to my lovely mother. I love my family!

 

An afternoon at the park where THEY got to choose when we left.
An afternoon at the park where THEY got to choose when we left.

 

Picking abandoned dandelions.
Picking abandoned dandelions.

 

I was so proud when she mastered the monkey bars after trying and trying and trying.
I was so proud when she mastered the monkey bars after trying and trying and trying.

 

Here's a wad of flowers, Mom. Put them in your pocket.
Here’s a wad of flowers, Mom. Put them in your pocket.

 

The uncertainty of this match-up. Well, Troy was certain.
The uncertainty of this match-up. Well, Troy was certain.

 

New clothes. Nothing is harder on the self-esteem than shopping for clothes. I'm glad it's over.
New clothes. Nothing is harder on the self-esteem than shopping for clothes. I’m glad it’s over.

 

A reluctant trash pick. I see a re-upholster in my future. I'm pleased to see them sharing.
A reluctant trash pick. I see a re-upholster in my future. I’m pleased to see them sharing.

 

The night time. When I can turn down all my senses for a bit.
The night time. When I can turn down all my senses for a bit.

 

He looks like he's praying.  I hope that's true.
The peacefulness that comes with sleep, such a stark contrast to the waking hours.

 

There are so many moments I missed with my camera, too…sometimes I just had to feel the moment without trying to capture anything.

2 thoughts on “Finding Happiness in the Regular Stuff

Leave a Reply

