More Happiness in the Small Stuff

I couple of weeks ago, I was on a quest to find happiness in the little things. I followed my family around with my cell phone’s camera, took pictures, then documented the results. Not surprisingly, it made me quite happy.

I’m not exactly sure what sparked my sudden interest in seeking out happy little things.

Maybe it’s because I am an overwhelmed mom.

Maybe it’s because total happiness is not genetic.

Maybe it’s because I react before I think, or, conversely, I fail to react at all.

Maybe it’s because I let anger out in all the wrong ways.

Maybe it’s because I am too critical of myself.

Maybe it’s a side effect of knowing that a friend is spending her remaining days on earth bird watching, the ultimate in simple pleasures.

Maybe it’s because life moves too fast. Too many things to do. Too many commitments. Too much stuff. Beauty is all around us, if you take the time to look for it.

I went looking for it over Mother’s Day weekend again…

Happiness is in two giggling girls with a breeze in their face.
Happiness is two giggling girls with a breeze in their face.

 

Happiness is eating delicious food.
Happiness is a delicious meal on a chilly spring day.

 

Happiness is little boys in flower sunglasses.
Happiness is babies wearing sunglasses.

 

Happiness is in a 25 cent trinket that makes too much noise.
Happiness is  25 cent trinkets that makes too much noise.

 

Happiness is eating a cookie made by a talented artist at a birthday party.
Happiness is birthday parties with friends and fun cookies.

 

Happiness is cheering on marathon runners.
Happiness is cheering on marathon runners.

 

Happiness is watching little boys explore their world.
Happiness is watching  little boys explore their world.

 

Happiness is the wonder and excitement in a child.
Happiness is the wonder and excitement in a child.

 

Happiness is in lending a helping hand.
Happiness is lending a helping hand.

 

Happiness is enjoying a Mother's Day treat!
Happiness is a frosting-induced coma on Mother’s Day!

 

Happiness is mismatched socks.
Happiness is mismatched socks.
Happiness is cousin love.
Happiness is two peas in a pod.

 

Happiness is in daddy's arms.
Happiness is in daddy’s arms.
2 thoughts on “More Happiness in the Small Stuff

Leave a Reply

