Perhaps I Should Start Thinking About My Garden…

It occurred to me that it’s probably time to start thinking about my garden. I should at least ATTEMPT to portray that I am, indeed, a gardener. Surely an experienced gardener wouldn’t fly by the seat of her pants this time of year.

What can I say? I like to fly by the seat of my pants. Actually, I don’t, but it’s mid-May and we need to get this show on the road, pants-less or however.

What? Your seeds aren't stored in such a careless fashion?
What? Your seeds aren’t stored in such a careless fashion?

It hasn’t been COMPLETELY willy nilly. I did start some tomato plants. I also started digging weeds a couple of weeks ago. My 1 year old fell off the swingset in the middle of this bold endeavor and I had to drop my hand shovel and run to him. He was okay (just a good skid mark across his face), but the weeds nearly swallowed up my shovel. No lie. My mom came to plant flowers a few days later and she did so with a shovel from the sandbox.

10329227_10202698452437160_183615803600170729_n
It’s any wonder I can make a garden grow at all. Seed starting is just not my thing. They seem a little pekid . Why doesn’t spell check know how to spell the word pekid?

 

Having nearly lost my shovel and  having such delicate, sensitive hands and no ambition to go digging through a closet that I wasn’t even sure held my gardening gloves, I considered just scrapping the whole garden and trying again next year. But alas, I walked into the kitchen and looked out the window to find my betrothed kneeling next to the garden, taking on those overgrown, thorny weeds WITHOUT GLOVES! What a stud.

Be still, my beating heart. But not too still, I might die.
Be still, my beating heart. But not too still, I might die.

 

My mother has long-insisted I need to apply a weed killer to this hot mess. She’s probably not wrong, but I worry about sprouting a unibrow or losing control of my thumbs or something like that when I think about applying chemicals. Our lawn is equally weedy, so they are in good company.

Besides, we wouldn't want to hurt the little wormies!
Besides, we wouldn’t want to hurt the little wormies!

Maybe next weekend we’ll get something going. Sorry to everyone who wants rain, but I need it to not rain for at least 4 days so we can get the tiller down in the garden. And by ‘we’ I mean my mom or dad because that beast scares me to death.

And of course I need to get seeds and plants and whatnot. I’ve got the sad looking tomato plants and a handful of seeds saved from last year, but am otherwise unprepared. Maybe I won’t plant so much this year.

Haha, just kidding.

 

 

One thought on “Perhaps I Should Start Thinking About My Garden…

Leave a Reply

