Honeymoon Pancakes

I grew pumpkins in my garden last year. Millions of beautiful little pumpkins were harvested in the fall, cooked 3 or 4 at a time over a length of time  practically equal to a year, then skins removed and orange mush frozen in neat and tidy 2-cup portions that filled my freezer to the brim. Or so it seemed.

It’s almost time to plant more pumpkins, but those bags of pumpkin in the freezer are mating and producing more bags of pumpkin. Or so it seems…

But this isn’t a story about my overabundance of frozen pumpkin. It’s a LOOOOVE story. Actually, it’s not that either, unless we are talking about my love affair with pumpkin pancakes.

Moby and I honeymooned in Houston, Texas, almost 8 years ago now. At the time, it seemed like a good idea to drive there (and back) (across the Midwest, the armpit of America, the road trip no one ever recommends in travel articles) (we only got pulled over once) (and by “we” I mean Moby).

On the way, we spent two nights with Moby’s relatives. The first night with his sister’s family in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. The second night with his cousin’s family outside Dallas, Texas. Oh, the romance!!  The Free Family Hotel seems an odd choice now that we have three kids and a lot less money and privacy. (No one told us it would be like this!!)

The morning following our stay in Dallas, Moby’s cousin made us pumpkin pancakes for breakfast before we made our way to Houston.

Before I go any further, I bet you were thinking Moby made me pancakes and served them to me in bed on a tray with a flower and a vase and the whole nine yards and we fed them to one another while giggling and smooching and whispering sweet nothings into one another’s ears while half nude.

That did not happen, but the pancakes were real.

I have a thing with pancakes. I do not care from whence they come, they are always delicious.

The Honeymoon Pumpkin Pancakes had that something extra to set them apart from the whole field of pancakes, though.

I think it was the nutmeg.  It’s always the nutmeg.

The pancakes literally melt in your mouth (better than saying moist, no?). They are not too sweet by themselves, and the spices give them flavor. I like to eat mine plain with butter, but I sometimes add syrup for a died-and-went-to-heaven treat!

After the honeymoon, I was able to request the recipe from Moby’s cousin and now I pull it out when I’m feeling like something special. More so now that the pumpkin in the freezer has begun to reproduce.

A perfect portion of pumpkin pancakes!
A perfect portion of pumpkin pancakes!

Honeymoon Pumpkin Pancakes

Combine Dry Ingredients:

2 ½ cups flour

2 tbsp sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

¼ tsp nutmeg

½ tsp salt

Pinch ground cloves

 

Combine Wet Ingredients:

2 eggs

12 tbsp pumpkin puree

4 tbsp melted butter

2 cups milk

Fold wet ingredients into dry. Cook in a buttered skillet over medium heat.

Printable recipe here.

See the little flecks of pumpkin?
See the little flecks of pumpkin?

When you make these with canned pumpkin, they are a really pretty golden-orange color. If you are too lazy to puree your pumpkin before freezing it, you get bits and pieces of pumpkin mixed into a fairly ordinary-looking pancake. I would assume an equal amount of pumpkin pie spice could be substituted in place of the individual spices.

And of course, the kids love them. They love anything with syrup on it. Pancakes are merely a vehicle for syrup. I haven’t told them they are loaded with pumpkin bits. I learned my lesson when I prepared red pepper cream sauce one time, then announced after supper that they ate vegetables and they got so mad at me, so now I keep my mouth shut and feel smug.

Good to the last bite!
Good to the last bite!

So there you have it, pumpkin pancakes perfectly suited for any romantic occasion. Go find yourself a tray and a vase and a flower and have yourself a good time!!

 

Leave a Reply

