2014 Garden Kickoff

In January, I sat outside a gym for 2 hours looking at a Gurney’s catalog while my oldest had a birthday party inside. I read it cover to cover, then starting jotting down some notes, looking things up on the website, paging through again and again trying to make some decisions for the upcoming garden season. (Little did I know that winter would last into May!)

After the birthday party ended, I was no closer to deciding what to plant than I had been 2 hours previous. I have never been good at making gardening decisions before gardening season. The only thing I knew for sure was that I wanted to plant potatoes again.

So the Gurney’s catalog hit the recycling bin and all decisions were tabled until last week. We ventured out to 2 local nurseries (Shotwell’s and Green Leaf out on Highway 10) to fill in the gaps in my seed collection (more on that another time). The weather stayed dry and Garden 2014 came together bright and early Saturday morning of Memorial Weekend.

Equipment at the ready.
Equipment at the ready.

 

The master mechanic, fine-tuning the 30 year old Troy Built.
The master mechanic, fine-tuning the 30 year old Troy Bilt.

 

I’m embarrassed by the fact that my father does all my tilling for me (and sometimes my mother). I’m afraid of the tiller. It runs away from you. And has sharp spinning things on it. And I might get a blister.

He tinkered with it for about an hour, including a quick trip to Scheel’s Hardware, which never fails to have parts for all the old things we own.

My mother thought my father ought to run out and buy a lottery ticket when he started the tiller on the first pull-string. We all bowed down to his mechanical skill.

While he was tilling, I walked around the yard and admired a few things:

This angry rhubarb plant.
This angry rhubarb plant.

 

This geranium. My Grandma Mae always planted red geraniums, and now I can think of her every time I see it. And hopefully I'll be seeing it a lot because I promised to water my flowers this year.
This geranium. My Grandma Mae always planted red geraniums, and now I can think of her every time I see it. And hopefully I’ll be seeing it a lot because I promised to water my flowers this year.

 

The Mugo pines grew a lot this year!
The Mugo pines grew a lot this year! They were so runty when we planted them.

 

The raspberries spread like crazy this year! This is their third year.
The raspberries spread like crazy! This is their third year.

 

This girl watering flowers. She likes to spray her brother, too, but overall does a good job.
This girl watering flowers. She likes to spray her brother, too, but overall does a good job.

 

This girl reading. Everywhere she goes, she's reading.
This girl reading. Everywhere she goes, she’s reading.

 

Then I circled back and though I should check on the tilling situation. He's in deep.
Then I circled back and thought I should check on the tilling situation. He’s in deep.

 

Dad finished up tilling, then I went to work planting. Strangely enough, everyone disappeared about that time. Which is fine. I enjoy being in my garden by myself.

It took me a couple of hours to get everything planted to my liking. I do it differently every year, mostly to amuse myself.

I was completely wiped out when I finished. It must have been 100 degrees out and I guess after freezing my butt off all winter it was just a little much. I was sweaty, I stunk badly and was covered in dirt, then decided on a whim to walk down the block to watch my neighbor plant his garden. I bet they were glad when I took my stink and filth home again. I just don’t think clearly sometimes.

But it’s done. The garden has been planted for 4 days now and I see little cucumber plants peeking out already. The beans will follow shortly, though I ran out of energy to put up the bunny fence. And nothing has died yet, though anything can happen still. My pekid little tomato plants aren’t improving, but they aren’t getting worse either. My mother questioned whether they were tomato plants at all, so I guess we have ourselves a good mystery for awhile.

There it is. Doesn't look like much yet.
There it is. Doesn’t look like much yet.

 

I’ll post some progress photos along the way and hopefully all the plants are happy here.

Oh, what did I plant? That would be good to know!

Green beans, pinto beans (fun, right!?), peas, potatoes, carrots, tomatoes, green peppers, popping corn, yellow onions, bush cucumbers, zucchini, and cayenne peppers.

I also have the angry rhubarb plant, a bed of strawberries, raspberries, and 2 apple trees and at least one of them better bear fruit this year or I’m taking it back to the Home Depot!! You heard me, TREE!!)

2 thoughts on “2014 Garden Kickoff

  1. It looks great! I got brave and put in a raised bed garden this year, so now I have to put something in or my husband will kill me. Fingers crossed! (I might have to ask you for tips in a few weeks.)

Leave a Reply

