Food for Getting Together: Garden Party Appetizers

Waaaay back in January, a friend and I were talking about gardening. I guess in the dead of winter, us North Dakotans need a warm-weather fantasy to distract us. We conceived a little idea to throw a garden party straight out of my garden, picking fresh ingredients, cooking together, enjoying some cocktails, gossiping. Wait, what?

The funny thing about fantasizing about summer in the dead of winter is that come summer, we’re usually cramming in every ounce of FUN possible, having long-forgotten our winter daydreams, but we didn’t forget about the garden party. The Garden to Table dinner came to (literal) fruition on Saturday. A small group of my coworkers got together at our house, enjoyed some appetizers and drinks, picked veggies for the next courses of our meal, then made some fresh pasta before traveling to another house for the remainder of the meal.

I had a great time, and I hope everyone else did, too. The party started at about 1 PM after a short delay and went until 6 PM. The weather was perfect. Low 70s, no wind, lots of sunshine.

I hosted social hour and appetizers at my house. We built a patio this summer, so it was fun to break it in with a little party.

Since the whole idea was to use fresh vegetables straight out of the garden, I prepared a variety of appetizers using zucchini, tomatoes, green peppers, cucumbers and carrots. I knew we would be feasting later in the day, so I kept the appetizers light and fresh.

Bruschetta

Crudites

Dill Vegetable Dip

Zucchini  Sushi Wraps

Lemon/Lime Infused Water

 

IMG_20140906_195342

IMG_20140906_195319
Crudites al a carte and “sushi” rolls
IMG_20140906_195302
Bruschetta on homemade bread
IMG_20140906_195244
Just for fun.
IMG_20140906_195153
Crudites in tea cups
IMG_20140906_195115
Dill dip served in a giant hallowed out cucumber.

 

After a few drinks, it was decided that these progressive dinners were a swell idea, and everyone was lining up to do the next one. I call that a success! I can’t wait till it’s my turn again!

Leave a Reply

