30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 3

Yesterday, we had a fun and lighthearted post on celebrity crushes. In an effort to combat my shallowness, I thought we’d switch to something deeper and more meaningful today.

Songs For When I Am Sad

It’s generally agreed upon that music can have a powerful emotional effect on us. Though I work in radio, I’m about as dumb as they come about music. I don’t follow trends, I only own about 2 dozen well-worn CD’s, I don’t have a “favorite song,” and I don’t even own an ipod. It’s embarrassing even admitting how little I know about music.

But I do know a good song when I hear it, especially a song that speaks to me on an emotional level through lyrics or melody.  I have a list of songs I go to when I want to wallow in sadness for awhile. I think it’s perfectly healthy to want to be sad sometimes, to have a good cry to some good music, get all the sad out, then move on.

It wasn’t hard to come up with songs for this list. I actually had to pare it down a little.

7. Hallelujah. It’s been done by many artists, but I’m partial to this version by Rufus Wainwright.

 

6. Somewhere Over the Rainbow by Israel Kamakoawiw’ole, the Hawaiian dude. I’ve already decided this will be a father-daughter dance at one of my daughter’s weddings.

 

5. Say Something by A Great Big World and Christina Aguilera. This is a newcomer to my list. The video is powerful.

 

4. Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri. Another newcomer. I think I like it because of all the harmonies.

 

3. The Sound of Silence by Simon and Garfunkle. I’ve worn out TWO Simon and Garfunkle CD’s in the last 2 decades. The whole album is good for a gloomy day.

 

2. Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby by The Counting Crows, perhaps not so much a sad song as one I use to wind down after a long day. The song’s length is about exactly the same as my commute.

 

1. And the number one sad song in my sad song repertoire is Everybody Hurts by R.E.M. No surprise there. It got teenage-me through a lot of emotional times. It’s not one I would pull out for everyday sadness. I save this one for the worst of the worst. I don’t want to have to listen to this song, but certain life situations call for it, and then I run it on repeat till I’m ready to join the real world again. Thankfully, I haven’t needed to listen to this one in quite a long time.

 

Honorable Mention (just because I’m looking at R.E.M. videos right now) – Nightswimming by R.E.M.

 

I’m feeling oddly refreshed listening to this playlist, as though listening has triggered a calmness in me, perhaps a Pavlovian response. My head is clear, I am relaxed, my mind is ready for anything. It also occurs to me that I am possibly older and wiser than I was when I relied on a playlist to work through emotions.  The older, wiser me knows there are far greater tragedies in this world than breakups, job loss, sick kids, uncertainty, worry and doubt. I should be so thankful that these are the worst of my troubles…

Tomorrow’s topic: My Most Prized Possessions

One thought on “30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 3

Leave a Reply

