30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 12

Yesterday’s topic focused on my favorite  Bible verses, a natural lead-in for my favorite holiday.

My Favorite Holiday

easter-religious-11

Easter has been my favorite holiday for most of my life, narrowly beating Christmas by only an inch. I love the ritual and tradition associated with Easter, including early morning church services, egg hunts, dyeing eggs, and, of course, ham. The Easter service is the best church service of the year. After 6 weeks of sad songs and sad sermons and not saying “hallelujah,” it’s a refreshing change of pace. Every other word is ‘hallelujah’ in the Easter service. It’s terrific. It’s a true celebration for literally the most important event in Christian history.

I particularly like the hymn  Jesus Christ is Risen  Today. Don’t be late for church or you’ll miss it! It is only sung but once a year. I’m going to have this hymn as part of my funeral, so people can look forward to singing it twice the year I die.

Here is a beautiful version of the song. Gives me goosebumps every time I listen to it!

Jesus Christ is risen today, Alleluia!

It is truly our triumphant, holy day!

To wrap up the inspirational trifecta, tomorrow’s topic is favorite quotes.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 12

Leave a Reply

