30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 14

Yesterday I wrote about my favorite quotes. I thought I would switch gears today and go to an unpleasant topic:

Fears

My greatest fear is a fairly common phobia: heights. Or more accurately, falling from great heights.

I do not encounter heights in my day-to-day life. In fact, if the handrail is right (up to my chest), the sky’s the limit. The space needle was no problem because the outdoor area is literally a cage. Parasailing was a piece of cake, though I can’t explain why. But I will only ever have the one roller coaster experience.

1495455_10204806754983406_5205268418507769604_n
Up, up and away!

My fear was tested to it’s limits about 4 years ago on a trip to Chicago. What do you suppose we did in Chicago? Yep,we went to the Skydeck in the Willis Tower.

186
See those little outcropping way up on top there?

The Skydeck is a tourist attraction in the Willis Tower almost on the top floor. It’s main feature is four all-glass boxes that hang off the side of the building. Visitors can walk out and experience nothing but a piece of glass between them and the wide, wide world. I am definitely not alone fearing heights. On the day we went, I would estimate more than 80% of the other tourists had some issues getting out onto the glass. Some wouldn’t even get near it. Almost 100% gave pause before stepping out onto the glass. In all honesty, it was physically hard to watch.

I watched a lot of people do it before I decided to try. When I was ready to step onto the glass, I had one hand on the wall inside the building and another on Moby, and later I would let go of both, if only for a second or two. It was exhilarating! Thrilling! The adrenaline rush was something to behold!

Holding tight to Moby.
Holding tight to Moby.

In addition to my fear of heights, I also have a fear of spiders crawling on me while I sleep. I’m not particularly afraid of spiders, and up until one decided to crawl across my face while I was sleeping, I used to let them live in our house. But now they all must die. I will never, ever wake up a hurl a jumping spider across the bedroom again.

I hated even bring that up. Sorry.

Tomorrow’s topic: A Dinner Party for 10 Very Special Guests

3 thoughts on “30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 14

Leave a Reply

