30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 17

Yesterday I dispensed some advice for my child self in the unlikely event that I’ll get a do-over. Thankfully, it’s never too late to take one’s own advice.

Today’s topic is near and dear to me.

Favorite Childhood Books

I love children’s literature. I love reading to my children, I love listening to my oldest read, I love looking through the children’s books at the library. My oldest child loves to read and has her very own reading corner. I usually have 3 or 4 books going on my night stand at one time.

This is a list of my all-time favorite children’s books:

The Giving Tree

My all-time favorite book. We read it a lot and it chokes me up every time.
My all-time favorite book. We read it a lot and it chokes me up every time.

 

Goodnight Moon, Runaway Bunny

I love the calming rhythm of both of these books.
I love the calming rhythm of both of these books.

 

Green Eggs and Ham

I like quite a few Dr. Seuss books, but this one is my favorite. I can get quite, um, animated when I read this book.
I like quite a few Dr. Seuss books, but this one is my favorite. I can get quite, um, animated when I read this book.

 

The Ox Cart Man

Lovely book about living off the land at the turn of the century and making the most of everything they had.
Lovely book about living off the land at the turn of the century and making the most of everything they had.

 

Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel

I love everything written by Virginia Lee Burton.
I love everything written by Virginia Lee Burton.

 

Maybelle the Cable Car

Another Virginia Lee Burton  book - a book about the history of the cable car in San Francisco.
Another Virginia Lee Burton book – a book about the history of the cable car in San Francisco.

 

The Pokey Little Puppy

Because it's fun to say "rolly polly, pell-mell, tumble-bumble."
Because it’s fun to say “rolly polly, pell-mell, tumble-bumble.”

 

The Relatives Came

I love this book because it highlights the joy of being with family.
I love this book because it highlights the joy of being with family.

 

Books from my childhood that I purchased for my kids:

Mr. Bell’s Fix It Shop

A repairman with hoarding tendencies mends a little girl's broken heart by fixing her doll.
A repairman with hoarding tendencies mends a little girl’s broken heart by fixing her doll.

 

Charlie’s Be Kind Day

Charlie wakes up grumpy, but his mother urges him to be kind all day. He learns how good it feels to be kind to others.
Charlie wakes up grumpy, but his mother urges him to be kind all day. He learns how good it feels to be kind to others.

 

Let’s Go All Around the Neighborhood

A little girl and her mother spend all day running errands.
A little girl and her mother spend all day running errands.

 

Panda Bear’s Paint Box

As the title implies, Panda Bear has a paint box and he paints a lovely picture of himself and his friend on a spring day.
As the title implies, Panda Bear has a paint box and he paints a lovely picture of himself and his friend on a spring day.

 

We Help Daddy

A tale of a decidedly old-fashioned 1950's family's Saturday chores.
A tale of a decidedly old-fashioned 1950’s family’s Saturday chores.

 

Milk and Cookies

My favorite Frank Asch. Baby Bear dreams that the wood burning stove in the basement of his grandparent's home is a dragon who eats all his milk and cookies.
My favorite Frank Asch. Baby Bear dreams that the wood burning stove in the basement of his grandparent’s home is a dragon who eats all his milk and cookies.

 

But No Elephants

A pet salesman leaves an elephant on Grandma Tilly's door step in a snow storm. She eventually takes him in, but he eats all her food. He redeems himself by picking up the house and moving it to a warmer climate.
A pet salesman leaves an elephant on Grandma Tilly’s door step in a snow storm. She eventually takes him in, but he eats all her food. He redeems himself by picking up the house and moving it to a warmer climate.

 

In additional to these books, I also love the Little Critter books by Mercer Mayer and all of the Berenstain Bears books.

Tomorrow’s topic – childhood photos.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 17

Leave a Reply

