Nothing To See Here Volume 2

Welcome to the second installment of Nothing to See Here, a new feature summarizing all of my favorites from around the web this week. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll groan, you’ll SALTS (Smile A Little Then Stop).

One. We cannot let this week pass without a nod to the ever-classic Back to the Future.

bttf


2. Photographer with access to the Pope takes 68,000 photos.

Pope Francis attends a general audience in St. Peter's Square.
Pope Francis attends a general audience in St. Peter’s Square. Photo by Dale Yoder.

3. Interview With Brandon Stanton of Humans of New York

***Humans of New York is my favorite website of all time. It shows real people with real struggles and emotions. Brandon has traveled abroad at least twice to photograph people from the Middle East, bringing their struggles to light and showing how the human race is as much the same as we are different. HONY, as we regulars call it, has inspired me to do better and be better in all things.

4. HONY of the Week

Photo by Brandon Stanton
Photo by Brandon Stanton

 “I met John in India while studying in a Hindi language program. He did all sorts of exciting things. He was from San Francisco and worked for all these super lefty politicians. In his twenties, he pretended to be a teenager so he could go back to high school and write an article about it. He did philanthropic work in African rain forests. Life with him was like a long vacation. Every day was an adventure. He’d literally wake up every morning and say: ‘Today’s an adventure.’ We dated for nine years. But he didn’t want to get married. He didn’t want to have kids. And even though he wanted to save humanity on a macro scale, he just wasn’t that warm. I never felt like I could come home in a way. So eventually I ended it. I met my current husband online. He was ‘all in’ from the very beginning. He doesn’t live in a rainforest, but he feels like home. If my sister sends me a picture of my niece wearing huge sunglasses, he doesn’t roll his eyes. He laughs even harder than I do.”

5. This Is One Unbelievably Simple Way to Transform the Lives of Poor Children

Interesting study, unlikely results, chances of real-life application, unfortunately = ZERO

6. Pin of the Week…Painted Vintage Luggage Underbed Storage

Photo from Cape27blog
Photo from Cape27blog

6. Long article summarizing how friendships change in adulthood.

I could have written this in about two paragraphs, but it was a nice trip down memory lane. And perhaps the validation that I needed for feeling like a crappy friend at this stage in my life.

Until next week…

lucy

Leave a Reply

