Nothing To See Here Volume 6

Hello and welcome to this week’s edition (not addition, as I’ve said previously – yes, I do know the difference) of Nothing to See Here. We’re in the sixth week of this little feature already so I’m not going to call it ‘new’ anymore. Or knew. This week’s round-up is a little paltry due to every website turning it’s attention to a certain thing that happened in Paris. I’m still undecided on how I feel about the whole thing, so I’ll stay off that topic here today.

1. ‘Nuf Said.

facebook

2. Cats and Cucumbers

2. Changes To Your Favorite Childhood Book Reveal How Society Has Progressed

It’s about Richard Scarry!

3. I cannot get enough of this cover of The Sound of Silence by Disturbed.

4. HONY of the Week

This is part three of a series on learning about a father’s life during World War II, specifically as it relates to the Holocaust, which I don’t have to tell you is a part of history that interests me greatly.

hony3
“I did all I could to find out information about my father, but it seemed that everyone who knew him had been killed. I traveled to Poland and searched records. We hired a researcher. We took out an ad in the paper, asking if anyone had information about Klaudiusz Jamiolkowski or Stanislaw Jamiolwski. But we heard nothing. The closest we came was discovering a family in my father’s village that shared his family crest. Their bloodlines crossed over one hundred years ago, but they had no direct knowledge of my father. I ended up becoming great friends with this family. Then one day, just a few years ago, I got a phone call from that family: ‘Tadzio!’ they told me. ‘The commander of the Polish Home Army just gave an oral history. And he mentioned your father by name!’ I went to Poland and found this commander. He was over ninety years old. He told me that he remembered my father well, because he’d lied about his age to become the youngest soldier in the Polish Home Army. And he confirmed every one of the stories that my father had told me.” ~~ Photo credit: Brandon Stanton, Humans of New York

5. Pin of the Week

calendar
Photo credit: Damask Love

6. Green Eggs and Ham

greeneggs1
by Dan Kopf, Priceonomics

Until Next Week…

Snow

Leave a Reply

