Getting Started

There might be snow on the ground, but Garden 2014 has officially begun!

One whole packet of tomato seeds were planted this weekend. Yes, a whole packet!

I was in the mood to knock a couple of my educational Pinterest projects off the list, so we made a pitstop at the Home Depot and bought some dirt and seeds. Naturally, I’d just swept the whole house so not my best laid plan bringing dirt into the house, but we made out alright.

We started with a seed germination experiment, which will be a later post, then moved on to planting seeds.

My 2 girls and my niece did most of the work.

 

DSCN0291
Scooping dirt into recycled Lego packaging.
Improvised watering can - milk jug with holes punched into the cap.
Improvised watering can – milk jug with holes punched into the cap.
More recycled materials - strawberry carton greenhouses.
More recycled materials – strawberry carton greenhouses.

 

Trying heirloom seeds this year.
Trying heirloom seeds this year.

 

DSCN0306
A post-planting journaling activity.
DSCN0307
Another journal page. She really liked this part.

Go here for the Plant Journal printable from Lemon Lime Adventures.

Overall, I think that’s a good start. Stay tuned for more gardening adventures.

 

 

 

One thought on “Getting Started

Leave a comment